VITAL COMMUNITIES STAFF
Mary Margaret
Mary Margaret Sloan, Executive Director, ext 101
marymargaret@vitalcommunities.org

Mary Margaret Sloan has 20 years of organizational management experience. She has headed national nonprofit conservation organizations, chaired several boards of directors of environmental organizations, has deep roots in conservation, dabbles in gardening, hiking and skiing, and lives in Windsor, VT.
Aaron
Aaron Brown, Transportation Program Manager, ext 111
aaron@vitalcommunities.org
Prior to joining Vital Communities, Aaron worked on clean energy issues with several non-profit organizations in Montpelier. He holds two degrees in history and a master’s in environmental law from Vermont Law School and now lives in Strafford, VT.
Phil
Phil Bush, Finance Manager, ext 104
phil@vitalcommunities.org
Phil Bush has over 40 years experience in non-profit general and financial administration. He lives at Cobb Hill in Hartland, VT.
Stephanie
Stephanie Carter, Outreach Manager, ext 108
stephanie@vitalcommunities.org
Stephanie has a M.S. in Resource Management and Administration from Antioch New England Graduate School. She lives in North Thetford, VT.
Bethany
Bethany Fleishman, Transportation Program Assistant, ext 113
bethany@vitalcommunities.org
Bethany has lived most of her life in Hartford. She has a biology degree and has worked in public health outreach, as a pastry chef and on the Town of Hartford Selectboard.
Allison
Allison Rogers Furbish, Energy Program Assistant, ext 114
allison@vitalcommunities.org
Allison Rogers Furbish joined Vital Communities after a decade-long career in journalism and public relations. A native of the Upper Valley, she has a BA in Human Ecology from College of the Atlantic and an MBA in Sustainable Business from Green Mountain College. Outside of work, she loves baking, reading, and spending time with family.
Emily
Emily Gardner, Events Coordinator and Local First Alliance Administrator, ext 115
emily@vitalcommunities.org
Emily grew up in Sharon, VT and graduated from the University of Connecticut with a Bachelors of Fine Arts. She is happy to have recently returned to the Upper Valley after working for almost a decade in the entertainment and event industries of Los Angeles, CA.
Stacey
Stacey Glazer, Leadership Upper Valley and Web Media Manager, ext 102
stacey@vitalcommunities.org
Prior to working at Vital Communiites, Stacey worked as a computer programmer for more than a decade. She holds a Master's degree in Mathematics, a BA in Mathematics and Computer Science, and lives in Thetford, VT.
Nancy
Nancy LaRowe, Valley Food & Farm Assistant, ext 106
nancy@vitalcommunities.org
Nancy has lived in the Upper Valley for more than 25 years. She has been active in food and farm issues during that time and runs Hogwash Farm in Norwich.
Carole
Carole Petrillo, Bookkeeper and Office Manager, ext 103
carole@vitalcommunities.org
Carole has lived in Vermont since the 1980’s. She brings an array of talents working as a bookkeeper and office manager in the private and public sectors of business. When not working, she enjoys teaching yoga, hiking to the top of mountains and skiing endless wooded trails. Carole lives in Thetford, VT.
Beth
Beth Roy, Farm to School Program Coordinator, ext 105
beth@vitalcommunities.org
Before joining Vital Communities, Beth worked in the environmental and place-based education fields for 15 years, in various positions around New England including, The Vermont Institute of Natural Science and as the Director of Education at The Nature Museum in Grafton, VT. Beth is also a certified classroom teacher.
Sarah
Sarah Simonds, Energy Program Manager, ext 109
sarah@vitalcommunities.org
Sarah grew up in Western Maine and received a joint degree in architecture and environmental studies from Middlebury College. Prior to joining Vital Communities, she spent two years as a philanthropic fellow at the High Meadows Fund. Sarah lives in White River Junction, VT.
Becka
Becka Warren, Valley Food & Farm Manager, ext 112
becka@vitalcommunities.org
Becka grew up in southern VT and has returned here with her family after years of living in Seattle. She has experience working with small farm support programs, not for profit organizations, and city/county governments.
Lauren
Lauren Whittlesey, Valley Quest Manager, ext 107
lauren@vitalcommunities.org
Lauren grew up in Ohio, and worked for the Student Conservation Association and the Meeting Waters YMCA before joining the Vital Communities staff. She earned a degree in music theory from Ohio University, and an MPA in non-profit management from Baruch College (CUNY). She lives in West Lebanon with her husband, daughter, dog, and two cats.